Football News

NFL Awards: Patrick Mahomes, Jalen Hurts and Joe Burrow shortlisted for MVP

It’s a novelty this year, the 50 journalists who vote for the end-of-season trophies have chosen several names. In short: rather than choosing a single name per category, they chose five men for the MVP, in the order of their preference. Points are then awarded to each player according to their ranking in the votes: 5 for the first, then 3, 2 and 1 point. And bam, that’s a winner.

For the other trophies, the journalists were asked to choose three names, always in order of preference.

This novelty, in addition to allowing more players to be mentioned, obviously allows a new teaser. Because this Wednesday, the Associated Press announced the names of all the finalists, ie those who had the most votes. Even if the chips are down, it therefore helps to tighten the suspense.

Without too much surprise, the main quarterbacks are there for the title of MVP. Among offensive players, Justin Jefferson must also face only pitchers.

Note that Brock Purdy only needed five regular season games to slip into the conversation for the title of offensive rookie of the year. Because, we remind you, it is only on the regular season that the vote is based.

The winners will be announced at the NFL Honors on February 9.


Josh Allen, Bills
Joe Burrow, Bengals
Jalen Hurts, Eagles
Justin JeffersonVikings
Patrick MahomesChiefs

Offensive Player of the Year

Jalen Hurts, Eagles
Justin JeffersonVikings
Patrick MahomesChiefs

Defensive Player of the Year

Nick Bosa, 49ers
Chris JonesChiefs
Micah Parsons, Cowboys

Comeback Player of the Year

Saquon Barkley, Giants
Christian McCaffrey, 49ers
Geno Smith, Seahawks

Coach of the Year

Brian Daboll, Giants
Doug Pederson, Eagles
Kyle Shanahan, 49ers

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Brock Purdy, 49ers
Kenneth Walker, Seahawks
Garrett Wilson, Jets

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, Jets
Aidan Hutchinson, Lions
Tariq Woolen, Seahawks

Assistant Coach of the Year

Ben Johnson, OC Lions
DeMeco Ryans, 49ers DC
Shane Steichen, Eagles OC

SEE ALSO:  NFL in Europe 2023: a Chiefs-Dolphins featured in five posters!
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable your ad blocker to be able to see the content of the page. For an independent site with free content, it is literally a matter of life and death to have ads. Thank you for your understanding!